Salted Caramel and Chocolate Cake (…. aka Not for the Faint Hearted)

Chocolate Cake has a special place in my heart….on birthdays my mother would ask us what kind of meal we wanted.
Mine was always Roast Lamb with Mint Sauce, Roast Potatoes, Peas and Pumpkin, and Rice Pudding for dessert.
In addition I always had to have a chocolate cake decorated with smarties and candles. Her chocolate cake was what dreams were made of!
My mom would always oblige, and make a big fuss of us in the process. Such happy memories.
So when I did this cake shoot with my friend Paul Lowe for his magazine some time ago, he let me take the rest of the chocolate cake home.
I ate all of it, bit by bit. It did take me a while, but it was worth every calorie consumed. I’d do it again in a heart beat.
Rich, luxurious, velvety and delicious (probably not the best cake for a kids birthday party). And by now, if you’ve read anything I have to say, you’ll know how much I lerve the salty sweet combination, and Mr Sweet Paul does not mess around here with either.
Find the recipe here
* For those using Celcius, 350 F = 180 C.

5 responses

  1. Looks absolutely delicious! I especially love that frosting. I wouldn’t be sharing it with anyone!

    August 9, 2012 at 8:00 pm

  2. Viki

    that looks sooooooooooo good

    August 10, 2012 at 4:57 am

  3. Pingback: salted caramel and chocolate cake. | Cooking Pics

  4. caramel is the only thing that I like to describe as oozing.

    November 12, 2012 at 9:21 am

  5. This is the first time I’ve been to your website.
    Thanks for providing more details.

    October 17, 2013 at 6:48 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 233 other followers