The Perfect Dressing.

I had made this salad the other day from whatever I had in my fridge….lettuce, a bit of broccoli, some tomatoes, olives and Greek Feta, the omnipresent avocado and roast chicken from the night before.

The best thing about salad, besides the obvious health benefits, is salad dressing. I love dressing so much I could probably eat (drink?) it on its own. Usually some good quality olive oil and rice wine vinegar  (my favourite choice, just love the flavour) salt and pepper will do just fine, but every now and then I step it up and make this. It is without a doubt a winner, and every time I make it someone will ask how its done.

I found the recipe in Saveur many years ago – I have since tried to find the exact article on line but so far no luck. There’s no need, really, because it’s very simple.

A quarter of one shallot, finely chopped
Rock or Sea Salt, a large pinch
Vinegar (I use Rice Wine and believe it works best in this recipe, but each to his own taste)

Place the shallots and salt in a small bowl, pour the required amount of vinegar (enough for however big your salad is)  into the bowl and let it sit for at least 10 minutes.

Something magical happens here….I don’t know what, but the salt, the shallots and the vinegar blend into one another and the flavour is out of this world.
At this point, if you wanted, you could add some Dijon Mustard, but I think leave it alone. You don’t need the added complexity.

Spoon the vinegar mixture over your salad and add as much olive oil as you want.
Finish with a twist of black pepper.
Try it, you’ll like it. I promise.

Additional photography by the one and only Chris Fanning.


4 responses

  1. Definitely have to try this! Sounds really magical.

    July 21, 2011 at 2:21 am

  2. omg!!! this is just so lovely I wish there was a taste button! mmm good! I will have to try this.

    July 21, 2011 at 9:28 pm

  3. corinne

    Had friends over for Friday night supper and made this to dress up my salad – would never have thought it could be so delicious! Made it again on Saturday :)

    July 25, 2011 at 7:49 am

  4. A good dressing recipe is so hard to find! Can’t wait to make this tonight!

    November 12, 2012 at 9:22 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 229 other followers