Father’s Day Bagel


On this father’s day, I’m thinking so much of my dad, who lives too far away, in Johannesburg.
If there was one meal that he always made for us, it was breakfast. He would don an apron, usually after his morning run – he was a passionate marathon runner – and make a huge pan of scrambled eggs, grilled tomato, bacon and toast. Oh yes, and always instant coffee – Nescafe. He was very proud of this breakfast and we ate it with relish.
This post is dedicated to you Dad, and here is a breakfast I know you would love.

Father’s Day Bacon Avocado and Tomato bagel

One wholewheat bagel, toasted
Sliced tomato
Sliced Avocado
Grilled Bacon
Salt and cracked pepper
A sprinkling of olive oil
Grated parmesan, just a bit

15 responses

  1. I think this picture comes from Parkmore. It’s a stunning picture – I haven’t seen it in years.

    Yes, the old man and his breakfasts. I don’t remember those post run breakfasts but I do remember him making all of us breakfast before going to school. He’d come through the house screaming “MORNING!!!!!!!!!!!” at the top of his voice, serve breakfast and then load me and my bicycle up and take me to school – and this was all before 6:30

    June 19, 2011 at 12:10 pm

  2. Lauren Blackford

    This looks delicious to a veggie-even with the bacon-I didn’t know about your blog until Rob posted on FB-I will keep reading-I need help in the kitchen!

    June 19, 2011 at 12:22 pm

  3. i wish i could get a decent bagel in los angeles!

    June 19, 2011 at 4:25 pm

  4. Wow, what a nice surpriseā€¦ South Africans always seem to pop up when you least expect it :)

    Great blog so far.

    June 19, 2011 at 4:36 pm

    • Thank you! Yes, we are everywhere. I plan on doing lots more on South African cuisine so please check back!

      June 19, 2011 at 8:58 pm

  5. nice blog! I’m listing as one of my faves on my blog (www.thedecoratedtree.blogspot.com)

    June 19, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    • Thank you Darryl, so much! I’m very new to this – 2 days new – so listing me as one of your favorite’s means alot!

      June 19, 2011 at 8:56 pm

  6. KarenJ

    YUM!!!!! This looks delish and I look forward to trying it. Good luck with your new blog project. Looks great so far!

    June 20, 2011 at 11:49 am

  7. Janine E

    yummy… Def going to make this on the weekend…

    June 20, 2011 at 4:48 pm

  8. Luvvie

    Francy, you do not disappoint … that bagel looks yum-ola, but I loved the family pic even more. X

    June 20, 2011 at 8:58 pm

  9. what is it about dad’s and BLT’s? mine is a huge fun as well. although he says it’s an absolute deal breaker w/out mayonnaise! look forward to seeing more posts from you in the future :)

    June 22, 2011 at 3:07 am

  10. That looks so good, nothing like a good bagel.

    June 27, 2011 at 4:21 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 233 other followers