Chris’s Vongole

 Every summer, my husband Chris makes his famous vongole – well, it’s his take on the dish and it’s always superb. He is as American as you get, and growing up in California and Miami, fresh seafood was always a part of his life. While it would be hard to write down this recipe – he cooks from memory – it always involves the same fresh ingredients, most of which we get from the farmers market on a saturday:
Linguini
A pound of roma tomatoes, which he blanches and peels
Plenty of fresh parsley (perhaps a whole head), thyme and whatever else he might have on hand
Lots of fresh lemon and garlic
Clams,
Squid
Freshly grated parmesan
Salt and black pepper to taste.
Serve with a green salad, crusty bread and a chilled rose champagne. So good!

29 responses

  1. Denise Lew

    This looks AMAZING!!!! Yum!!

    June 17, 2011 at 1:12 pm

  2. Of course your photos make everything look especially divine!

    June 18, 2011 at 9:17 am

  3. What a hunk…….

    June 18, 2011 at 9:59 am

  4. wow!!! that looks soooo good! and I love the kraft paper on the table what a neat idea!

    June 18, 2011 at 10:33 am

    • thank you! it’s actually parchment paper from Wholefoods – I wanted to use butchers paper but didn’t have time to find it, so decided on the parchment instead. I think it worked really well!

      June 19, 2011 at 7:51 am

  5. Loving your blog already! looking forward to following along~

    June 18, 2011 at 11:00 am

    • thank you! I have lots planned so please keep checking back!

      June 19, 2011 at 7:52 am

  6. love that sweet paul turned us onto your blog..i’ve already peeked at your website as well. you will be a daily read for me.
    your man can cook! yum…

    June 18, 2011 at 11:28 am

    • LOL he really can, and he’s a nice guy to boot! Thanks for your kind words :-)

      June 19, 2011 at 7:53 am

  7. what a beautiful blog….came by via SWEET PAUL….. everything looks delicious….i’ll be back very soon…

    kary and teddy
    xx

    June 18, 2011 at 12:06 pm

  8. wow lost the first photo <3

    June 18, 2011 at 1:45 pm

  9. omg, clams! I absolutely love it! :) delicious blog :)

    June 18, 2011 at 5:12 pm

    • thank you!!! this has been one of the most enjoyable projects I have worked on!

      June 19, 2011 at 7:49 am

  10. I’m allergic to clams, otherwise this ewould be yummy. But I have to tell you that you are my greatest inspiration photographing stills! I discovered your work through Sweetpaul, and I just fell in love with you way of shooting. :o)

    June 18, 2011 at 6:13 pm

  11. Sonia

    Great! i’m Sonia, from Parma. Lovley Photographs. I deeply like your bolg! i’ve noticed yuo use Parmigiano Reggiano as ingredient…..I wait all your family here to see how we do it, why is important to spend a little bit more and avoid the fake parmesan!!! And you also use vongole, the big one… are you a pro cooker? see you, So.

    June 19, 2011 at 5:32 am

    • Hi Sonia, thanks for your message, and thanks for spending the time to look at my blog! I’m not a pro chef at all, neither is my husband, we just love to cook, and this is just our version of the dish. As far as the parmesan goes, it is not an option in our house to use the fake one, only the real one!

      June 19, 2011 at 7:48 am

  12. Found my way here from Sweet Paul, you’re already added to my blogroll…I’ll love following your great pics and fab food inspiration ;) Love from Vera

    June 19, 2011 at 4:34 pm

    • Thank you Vera! That means alot, especially since the blog world is very new to me :-)

      June 19, 2011 at 8:58 pm

  13. Wow – fantabulous pix and food !

    June 19, 2011 at 11:52 pm

    • Thank you Pierre!! I love your blog too…very inspiring! Give Hein a kiss from me!

      June 20, 2011 at 2:38 am

  14. I just love the idea of rose champagne with this. For some reason I will always go for redwine with pasta even in summer, but will definitely try that next time.

    June 21, 2011 at 3:08 am

  15. Hello! congratulations for your new life as blogger ! Spaghetti alle vongole is allways one off my favourite meal, delicious!!! But your paninis from the last post look really great! Kisses from Barcelona!

    June 21, 2011 at 11:53 am

  16. Thank you for the inspiration!

    http://anysroad.blogspot.com/2011/06/whats-cookin-pastaholic.html

    Next time definitely with bubbly!

    June 22, 2011 at 5:02 am

  17. Grace Schuurman

    Wow, Frances, this is a great blog!! You have some of my favourites – artichokes, calamari salad, Chris’s vongole, to name a few. Great photography, too! What a delightful surprise! And such nice words about your parents!

    July 11, 2011 at 8:58 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 231 other followers